Losi Forums » Main Categories » Micros and Minis »

First Losi Mini Desert Buggy (LOSB0204)

Old 01-19-2011, 10:29 AM

Smile First Losi Mini Desert Buggy (LOSB0204)

Hello everyone

I'm new to Hobby RC's and would like to know if some of you can answer a couple general questions for me.

I just bought a Mini Desert Buggy and would like to upgrade a few things on it over time. I ordered a LiPo batt and a slipper clutch so far. I assume these are both "Plug and Play"

I would eventually like to order a brushless motor. If and when I go this route is that all I would need to buy? I have seen some conflicting posts in forums about people upgrading to a brushless motor and others saying they upgraded the motor as well as the ESC in order to use it. Also others saying they swapped gears when changing to brushless. Are all these required to go brushless or can I just buy the brushless motor, swap it out and be good to go? Also I remember reading somewhere that the Stock ESC on the buggy (LOSB0204) was compatible with brushless motors, if that's the case why are people changing them out?

Thanks for the help everyone!!!
Old 01-19-2011, 11:05 AM

You will need a new ESC to run a brushless motor, you also need to make sure you have an LVC(low voltage cutoff) setup with your lipo batteries. Typically this is built into the esc, but not sure that is the case with the stock losi esc...

LIPO batteries do not like to be discharged below a certain voltage, hence the need for the LVC. Also make sure you balance your lipo packs, preferably during every charge. Your best bet is to invest in a good charger now that has the optionality to charge various battery types, # of cells, etc.

The reason people upgrade the diff gears to metal ones is that brushless motors have the capability to go alot faster than brushed, so the drivetrain lifespan can be reduced significantly.